Discover the Fun
Duck Pond & Mill Dam
Regarded as one of the most aesthetically appealing and vauled assets of Narrows, Mill Dam signifies the indomitable spirit and strength of the community. The dam, originally built before the Civil War to provide power for a flour mill, rightfully takes its place as the cornerstone of Narrows’ history. Throughout the twentieth century, the Town has rallied around the dam’s preservation and today it survives as a testimony to Narrows’ perseverance and dedication.
Falling into a state of disrepair in 1930, the Kingrea brothers purchased the land and restored the mill to its original design. Unfortunately, the mill deteriorated withe the passage of time and was eventually dismantled in the 1960s. However, in 1985, a large break occured in the dam which led to the drainage of the pond and, to some degree, the pride of the community.
Recognizing its importance, a community-wide effort was undertaken in 1986 to rebuild the dam and preserve it for the enjoyment of future generations. The $30,000 cost of rebuilding the dam was complemented by significant dedication of volunteer labor and funds.
Parks & Recreation Director
540-726-2961 or 540-599-1135
Mailing Address: Physical Address:
P.O. Box 440 Narrows, VA 24124 110 Mary Street Narrows, VA 24124
Narrows is located in Giles County, Virginia
Virginia’s Mountain Playground ™